Planning the trip shall begin shortly…

29 Nov

Welcome to a new travel blog that I hope to keep updated (this doesn’t seem to work out very well for me, but at least I keep trying)!  If you know me well, you know that I love to travel.  If I had the choice to spend my money on new technologies or to spend it on travel…I choose TRAVELING!  My dreams of traveling have been pretty much limited to going along with my parents on ‘their’ vacations.  Although I suppose I could have traveled solo, I have not and my friends do not seem to share the same passion and/or dedication I have for new travel adventures….

…until now!  Thanks to my buddy Rose Branstrom, who I met while I studied abroad in Italy last February (2011).  We are both blessed to have some source of income, families that support our travel desires, and jobs that will allow us to be absent for longer than normal periods.  For the time being, we also live very close to each other, and duh…attend the same school, which creates an ideal environment to plan this trip together (relatively easy).

Right now we have NO PLAN, but we have a FRAMEWORK for our planning session in December.  Let me share:

  • We will travel in May
  • We will fly to Europe in an airplane (versus swimming across the Atlantic)
  • We will fly in to Amsterdam
  • We will be travelling for at least 2 and 1/2 weeks
  • We will be operating on a shoestring budget
  • BUT we will NOT be couch surfing with strangers (thanks to Rose’s better life choices than mine)
  • We will NOT be driving a car (but a moped is not a car)
  • We will TRY to avoid hostels with bedbugs (but no guarantees here)
  • We will choose 4 places we want to go, cities, countries, museums, etc to discuss in December
  • We will communicate with each other our feelings and try our best to compromise with one another
  • We WILL drink espresso as much as possible without having a heart attack

To be continued in December…

Leave a Reply

