FAQ that I need you to answer…

30 Nov

I think it is important that I post the things that I need to do for an international trip and allow you to guide me on how to get things done (cough..cough…talking to my international family/friends or avid travelers here).

  • What do I do about phone calls?  Should I choose a phone card or a cell phone?  I believe AT&T, my phone carrier, charges me even when I use a phone card.  Or just Skype?  DILEMMA
  • What do I do about health insurance?  I have HAP in the States, but do I need to purchase separate travel insurance?
  • MONEY.  Travelers checks are safe but cost more in service fees.  Cash is easy to exchange but scary to carry around.  My credit union does not allow my credit card to be used in some countries AND there are still ATM fees I believe.  Do I open a new bank account with someone else in the states?  Or do I open a bank account in another country temporarily?  Or do I become a gypsy and either beg or steal money?
  • I am not planning on bringing a laptop.  Is this a bad idea?  If I bring my smart phone, will my Wi-Fi work still and will websites be in English?  If someone gets me a tablet…
  • Do most train stations have lockers in case we arrive to a new destination before we can check into our hostels?
  • Backpack or rolling suitcase?
  • Any hostel suggestions for the Netherlands and France?
  • Any bars/disco-techs/tourist attractions we NEED to see in the Netherlands and France?  Rose wants to see a Castle, recommend us one here:
  • Tomato or Tom(ah)to?
Leave a Reply

